Houston International Airport

Lit-up luggage decorations that reminds me of science fiction

After thinking about it for a bit, I decided to get a ticket back to the U.S. I learned a lot in this adventure to Mexico though. One thing, is that I’ll never consider going to a foreign country without knowing a little bit of the the language first!

This morning started off hectic. I woke up at 5 AM at my homestay in Chiapa de Corzo and I completely forgot about my flight. I was still dropped off on time in Tuxtla-Gutierrez by a nice man and flew with Continental Airlines into Houston, Texas.

This was the first time I’d ever been in the city. It has a nice airport and it looks like a space station from out the plane windows. The baggage claim had funny plastic lit-up luggage decorations that drove me to snap a quick, crappy photo of them. Had to go through the X-Ray thing and it wasn’t too bad. I didn’t feel like I’m getting cancer from them or anything.

Customs was the worst. Of course I picked the slow line. The guy checking the status was taking forever as everyone else in different lines were breezing through. When I finally get up to the counter- I’m trying to stay cordial. He lets me go faster than the rest. Probably because I had been staring at him so hard for the half-an-hour. When I’m done with customs, I have a silly smile on my face because I’m in the U.S. and I’m surrounded by English speakers and I’m not being charged when I use the public facilities and I can drink water from the faucet.

It’s nice to be back for a while. But soon enough, I’m wanting to travel else-where…

