The OCC Bus Station From Tuxtla-Gutierrez to Huatulco to Zipolite Beach

I got dropped off by some nice people at the Central bus station in Tuxtla-Gutierrez. I teetered towards the ticket counter with my backpack engulfing me and my computer bag wider than my little, Filipino girl body. I had a Spanish script all ready for this moment. [I’m a nerd.] [What? I thought it’d be important to be specifically adamant about well, specifics.] But then once I got to the counter, I took one look at the heavy set Chiapas woman—wearing blue eye shadow, with an attitude, and that’s when I thought, Fricken-a. Fuck it. If it gets the job done, it gets the job done.

“Hola! No habla espaniol, los siento. Busca? Huatulco? Today, aqui? Por favor.” Somehow just that jarble was able to get me a $326 pesos ticket to Huatulco that will be leaving tonight at around 8:25 PM. It’ll take 9 hours. Then I will have to climb aboard another bus to Pochutla.

The Luggage Storage

Here in Tuxtla-Gutierrez’s bust station, there’s a place for baggage storage. Let me tell you how it went. It was $12 pesos an hour for my big backpack and $5 an hour for my computer bag. I had about 12 hours to hang out at a Soriana, a huge mall attached to the bus station, so I had to use luggage storage or face all those hours of possible mishaps, collisions and potential dangers with my possessions. I came back and they went ahead and added a huge chunk of gratuity with unprecidented rates. By the time that was done, I made a huge sigh, as I think about my finances.

Invaluable Resources of Travel: The Internet and Nice People

The only guidebook I relied on was the Internet and nice people I didn’t know  the towns I’d be stopping through to board the next bus or taxi, until I’d ask and be pointed the way, or get offered recommendations or travel advice from courteous people. By that blind way alone, I was able to get to Huatulco. At that bus station, I bought a $40 peso bus to Pachutla. Then I got a taxi for $150 pesos to Zipolite Beach. You learn to get by using your own smarts.

Logistics on Packing for Backpacking: 30% Essentials and 70% Unnecessary Things

My packing last night was pretty slovenly put together and I’m about the worst packer of unnecessary things in the world. I think my survival needs are different from other practical travelers out there. I’ve got a backpack full of beach dresses, Capri’s, and sandals. I do have a sleeping bag. The rest is first aid, bug repellent, toiletries, jewelry, and a whole lot of shit that isn’t really necessary. No tent. No hammock. But I did bring a lap top and SLR camera.

What First Class Buses are Like in Mexico

Remember to bring a sweater. For it is like an ice winter storm in your seat. A row of movies blasted with noise as loud as baseball stadium sound. Almost at every check-point, an officer would come on board and ask people questions. Even I was questioned: Where are you from? Can I see your passport? at 2 AM. The lights on the bus would blare on, and then there’d be bathroom stops. Basically, it’s hard to sleep here.

All the Stuff that was Stolen

This is a very ugly paragraph and it breaks my heart to write this. My SLR camera was stolen. $1,000 pesos was stolen. My cell phone and phone card was stolen. I don’t even remember leaving my computer bag, so it must have been when I closed my eyes, because I was dog tired, disorientated and uncomfortable. Make sure to be alert when traveling!

Making it to Zipolite Beach

I was dropped of at Huatulco and from there, I took a smaller bus to Pochutla. From Pachutla, I took a taxi for $150 pesos all the way into Zipolite Beach. Later I found out that normally that taxi ride would have cost $100 from a fair driver. This taxi driver, on the other hand [and this was right after I found out my camera and my purse was stolen] had seriously dropped me off at a mentally disabled rehabilitation center in Zipolite instead of the youth hostel that I had told him I wanted to be left off at. A bind man had to tell me that they weren’t renting.

I heaved my things after dramatically apologizing and recalled a couch surfer’s advice, to just head to the beach and I’ll find rental situations everywhere. This is true. And I found a cabana.! And it’s great. Check out TravelPod.com for a caption on Zipolite Beach, pictures along with the good, the bad and the nude here.

